Grasslands Review
Tuesday, September 26, 2006
      ( 6:00 PM ) Laura  

Grasslands Review

Grasslands Review is moving this fall (2006) to Indiana State University. Please send submissions to "Grasslands Review" c/o Managing Editor, Department of English, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN 47809. One more issue put together by the founding editor, Laura Kennelly, is in the works. There's hope that it will be out by December (but "hope" is a four-letter word). It's been a great 20 years or so--and we've been proud of the wonderful poems we've been lucky enough to read . Thanks. (The above image taken in downtown Toronto this September 2006 seemed fitting; life under construction and all that.)
#




Sunday, February 05, 2006
      ( 6:41 PM ) Laura  

For those who have written to ask--"is Grasslands still there?" Thank you. The answer is YES, but we are slower than usual. For that reason we've changed our policy about simultaneous submissions--just to make life better for all of us.

We still can read only ms postmarked in March or October.

And we're still reading ms submitted in Oct. 2005 so if you haven't heard, that just means you haven't heard, not that you've been forgotten.

Again, thanks for asking.

Laura Kennelly, Editor
#




Friday, March 26, 2004
      ( 12:56 PM ) Laura  
The latest issue is actually at the printer's. Things did happen last year and this issue has turned out to be dismally late. I apologize. However, March submissions are being read right now (in March) and those who submitted work should hear by the end of April. Just remember, if you want to send material, please do so in March or October only. Thanks.
#




Monday, April 14, 2003
      ( 8:33 AM ) Laura  
If anyone reads this, then know that the manuscripts are ready for typing for the next issue, but life has intervened. Nothing tragic, just work--your editor is a freelance writer so jobs must come first. Many subs came in for the free March reading period and we'll try to get those read ASAP--some have already been returned.
#




Wednesday, February 05, 2003
      ( 3:57 PM ) Laura  
At last! We have our winners for the Grasslands Review Editors' Choice Contest 2002.

John E. White of Altadena, California won the Fiction Contest for "Billy's Grade"
Don Shockey of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma won the Poetry Contest for "Slipstream of a Night"
One honorable mention: Joan E. McCarthy of Natick, MA for "lean summer"

These works plus others will soon be coming out in issue #25. All contest entrants have a subscription to Grasslands (as part of their entry fee) so they can expect to get to see these winning entries soon. I've been thinking about the best way to run a contest. Number one, for us, is to be fair and honest.

The prize may not be $1,000--in fact, it isn't, it's $100--but the contest is completely on the up-and-up. None of the winners, in the four years we've run this contest, has been known to us. They've been interesting people and we've enjoyed "meeting" them, but nothing about our contest was "fixed" or a set up to reward people we already knew. We also give entrants something for their $12 or $15 (last year) entry fee--a subscription. Next year we may set it up so that subscribers ($10 a year) may enter for $3 a poem and $5 a short story. Others will pay more to enter. By the way--feedback is welcome at GrasslandsReview@aol.com. I might even put your letters on this blog (in fact, I'm pretty sure I will because I'd love to find out if anyone besides me reads this).
#




Saturday, January 25, 2003
      ( 2:48 PM ) Laura  
I'm still mulling over the entries, but a decision should be coming soon. It's just that there were several entries that were close--no one was that much above the others. One contestant wrote and didn't enclose a SASE) feeling impatient (and I can understand that) so I sent those poems back so they can find a home elsewhere since if I'd responded then there wouldn't have been an envelope for future correspondence.

I wonder, sometimes, about writers--don't they know that if they are good then there's plenty more where that came from? I think it's important to finish a poem, send it out and move on. I hardly ever keep track of where I send things--it's not as if they are going to be stolen or be big money-makers (at least, not mine). I wish every poet who submits poetry to be published would edit a little magazine for a couple of years. It's a valuable perspective. Anyone who reads The Small Press Review knows this since the wonderful Laurel Speer has said so so many times. I think she's retired from her column--I'll miss her.
#




Friday, January 17, 2003
      ( 4:34 PM ) Laura  
I just noticed that there's some information about our first contest on the post below. I think we'll run the 4th one this year, but we have to make enough money to cover publishing the prize issue plus pay our winners. I wish we could offer bigger $$$ because some of our entries are very good and because our judges (the editors) are very demanding. We (so far) have not known our winners beforehand--in fact, still don't know them--but they've been very gracious about a number of things and very easy to work with. I don't know what the answer is with little magazines--everyone wants to be read (it seems), but no one wants to read. So what's that about?
#




archives:


Grasslands Review is a little magazine. We publish original fiction and poetry and try very hard to put out two issues a year. This blog will contain random thoughts of the editor about the magazine, publishing, and poetry, etc. Whatever.

Powered by Blogger